Single Channel, HD, Colour, Stereo
24:00 min
Edition of 7

G24|0vßß is an HD audio-visual composition shot with the coldest piece of matter in the observable universe — The ‘Cryogenic Underground Observatory for Rare Events’ (CUORE) experiment at the National Laboratory of Gran Sasso (LNGS), of the National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN), Italy. The artist has allowed himself to dream with and into the coldest space in the observable universe, resulting in an original musical composition and the experimental film G24|0vßß.

G24|0vßß is part of a series of fieldworks investigating new planetary scale sensing apparatus’ and architectures of the imperceptible; new materialist and speculative philosophies; the entangled narratives of landscape, technology, and knowledge. Shot in the Abruzzo region, the video diffracts some of the embedded characters of the mountain, which itself has become an essential collaborator with the neutrino and dark matter experiments at the LNGS.

Quotes from
Stanislaw Lem’s 1968, ‘His Master’s Voice punctuate this composition and help question the norm of human exceptionalism in the age of the Anthropocene.

G24|0vßß was the recipient of the MERU Art*Science Award, IV Edition, 2016.

Director & Cinematographer: Jol Thoms
Editor & Original Music: Jol Thoms
Colour: Martin Kohout
Aspect Ratio 16:9
Music Mastering: Louis McGuire
Soundtrack: Stereo

Produced as the MERU Art*Science Award, 4th Edition, 2016 through MERU/Medolago-Ruggeri Foundation for biomedical research, Associazione BergamoScienza, and Galleria d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea (GAMeC) Bergamo, Italy.

Special Thanks to Dr. Christian Spiering and the LNGS CUORE experiment: Francesco Vissani, Carlo Bucci, Paolo Gorla, Stefano Pozzi & Dell’Oro.
Thank you: Sasha Engelmann, Tomás Saraceno, Henry Heng Lu, Dan Meththananda, Kristof Trakal, Lysander Rohringer, Merle Richter, Megan Edwards, Jakob Huber.

Installation Documentation:

Blackwood Gallery, UTM, 2019 

© All images are copyright Jol Thoms. Texts copyright Jol Thoms and the respective authors.