Jol Thoms (b. Toronto) is an artist and researcher based in London, UK. His audio-visual compositions, lecture-performances, and educational experimentations emerge from site-based fieldwork in remote ‘landscape-laboratories’ situated at the forefront of experimental physics and environmental stewardship where planetary bodies become vast posthuman sensing arrays. His critical practice addresses our troubled relationships with nature, technology, and the cosmos by signalling beyond the purely measurable and quantifiable, and by thinking, feeling, and sensing with more-than-human worlds.

Thoms was a participant in the Anthropocene Campus’ I & II at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2014/16), won the MERU Art*Science Award (2016), and was a Fellow of the Akademie Schloss Solitude (2016-17). He received an honors BA from the University of Toronto in 2009 and a meisterschüler in Contemporary Fine Art from the Städelschule in Frankfurt aM, Germany (2013). Thoms collaboratively developed and led an experimental arts pedagogy ‘IAK’ with artist-architect Tomás Saraceno and geographer/artist Sasha Engelmann at the Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany (2014-16). He is currently a co-ordinator of the Deep Field Project with artists Neal White and Diann Bauer at the University of Westminster.

Thoms has recently participated in: Recontres Internationales Paris/Berlin: Contemporary Moving Image (2019); Logics of Sense 1: Investigations­ – Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto Mississauga (2019); Istanbul Experimental Film Festival, Kadikoy Sinemasi, Istanbul; Blind Faith: Between the Cognitive and the Visceral in Contemporary Art - Haus Der Kunst, Munich (2018); BLACKHOLe – GAMeC, Bergamo (2018); Open Codes: Living in Digital Worlds -ZKM, Karlsruhe (2017-2018).

His previous site can be found

︎ @more.than.non.human

︎  jol.thoms{at}

© All images are copyright Jol Thoms. Texts copyright Jol Thoms and the respective authors.